I Work Out.

Epic Handshake

Ahhh Arnold. After all theses years he’s still the man of one-liners and iconic actions. One of them being the above ‘Handshake’ with Dillon (Carl Weathers) in Predator. I know a few of my friends who have wanted to be able to do that Epic Handshake, and I gotta say, I’m one of them as well.

As mentioned in some of my previous posts, I’ve started a new diet and have been working out more frequently to get into better shape for my upcoming wedding and for overall good health.

Adam, one of my buddies from church and a professional personal trainer introduced me to Carb Nite Solution and I’ve been doing it ever since September when my parents left for Malaysia. Ever since the start of the diet I’ve also been increasing my gym times from 3-4 times a week. I’ve lost an overall 30+ pounds and have made some gains in muscle mass and strength.

So far, I’ve split my workouts over a 4 day period.

1st Day: Back and Biceps

2nd Day: Shoulder and Legs

3rd Day: Chest and Triceps

4th Day: Abdominals

I’ve upload most of my exercises on my Body Space at BodyBuilding.com and used to do a lot (like 20+) of exercises per session.

I’ve been recently tweaking and cutting out exercises now so I don’t spend the 2-3 hours per session and I’ve cut it down to about 6-10 exercises after my warm up.

Every session starts up with a warm up of: jump rope, jumping jacks, glute bridges, hip flexors, pushups, spidermans, shoulder rotations, quadruped thoracic rotations, body squats and some time on the foam roller.

More of less I mixed and matched a few items from these two sites:

http://www.roglawfitness.com/the-minimalist-guide-to-mobility/

http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2012/01/09/warm-up/

I’m starting to really like using the jump rope, it’s always rewarding to be able to jump rope both faster and for longer periods of time without stopping or getting caught up in the ropes. Though I have whipped myself a number of times with the speed rope which hurts like crazy. I’m hoping soon enough I’ll be able to do more advance jump rope, like the double hops and arm crossovers.

I definitely need to work on my biceps as I can do pretty heavy weights on the chest and shoulder exercises, but my curls are still quite low weight. Today I read an article on Arnold and his workout and it really inspired me. I don’t think I’ll be doing 15+ sets per exercise¬†like him, but I definitely want to try out the small additional techniques he mentioned for each move so maybe I can get some Himalayan¬†Mount Kinabalu peaks on my arms too :P

One day I will be able to do that ‘Epic Handshake.’ One can hope anyways :)

One thought on “I Work Out.

Leave a Reply

