The Christmas Season – The Gift of Generosity

Dalit Freedom Network

It’s December 5th and Christmas is only 20 days away!

How quickly days pass when we don’t pay attention to them. Another year has come and is almost gone.

Just recently I decided to sponsor a Dalit child from India so that he could have access to education at one of the schools that my church helped to fundraise for.

Some background information in regards to the peoples that are designated the ‘Dalits.’ In India society still runs in a caste system where people are born into a certain status of life. The Dalits or ‘The Untouchables’ are literally Out-Castes from the system and are regarded by some to be on a level lower than animals. They suffer poverty, discrimination and oppression simply because they were born from Dalit parents and the vicious cycle continues from ages past until the unforeseeable future.

I missed the opportunity to sponsor a child last year, and though I knew I would be jobless in 2 months, I made an intentional effort tighten my spending to sponsor one this year and I can say I’m a proud sponsor of little Sam* (*name has been modified) from Faridkot, Punjab, India.

Many times I find myself thinking of the things I can’t have or the things I can’t do because I don’t have the money for it. It’s an easy thing to do in comparing what we don’t have when living a place that is rich in freedoms and resources such as Canada. It was not more evident to me of my blessings then when I was writing my first letter to Sam.

I must say it was quite difficult to write the letter, I was not too sure on what to say and how to word it. I started with my ‘hellos’ and began to write about myself hoping that as Sam learned more about me, that i would get a return letter from him telling me more about himself and his family. I struggled to write out that letter as succinct as possible all the while trying to keep terms simple. I realized that my stumbling to explain something in ‘simpler words’ just meant that I had the opportunity to learn and understand more things than many people might have an opportunity to know in less fortunate countries. As I encouraged him to stay in school and how I was happy to be his sponsor; I mentioned my educational background and how I held two degrees and was once again reminded of the blessings of the educational opportunities (though expensive) in Canada.

There were many other reminders that flowed through my mind as I wrote that letter, but lets just say it was definitely a ‘re-eye-opener’ for me. I hope that through me and other people’s donations/contributions, Sam and other Dalit children can bring hope to the next generation.

I can’t say that I’m some type of hero or that I gave till it hurt as some people I know have done, but I’d like to encourage everyone to look into a charity that resonates with you and help in whatever way you can.

P.S. – If this post has inspired you and you’d like to sponsor a child like I have ($300/year per child or $25/month per child), please feel free to contact me and I can try to connect you with one of the children packages that my church has.

OR

Go to dalitfreedom.net and look under the projects page “Education for Dalit Children” under the “Freedom through Education” category (or click the picture above).

P.P.S. – Thanks always to my parents who sacrificed much in hopes that I may have a better life.

P.P.P.S. – A shout out to the people weathering the cold this Christmas season collecting donations for charities. Keep up the good work and thanks.

Leave a Reply

